## The Venerable Clam

AERS has a tradition of awarding the "Venerable Clam" at each meeting to a long standing member in attendance who has contributed to field and the society. The recipient of the award is required to adorn the clam with his or her signature, wear the Clam for the remainder of the meeting and be given the "knuckle salute" by all AERS members. While we chide the bearer of the Clam about being honored for being old, the true meaning of the word Venerable "calling forth respect through age, character, and attainments" is at the heart of this coveted award. The original Venerable clam was established circa 1976 in fond memory and through the inspiration of Dr. Don Lear. The clam, one valve of a Mercenaria mercenaria was placed in service for the society's 33rd year. The defining AERS logo created by then-member Anna Shaughnessy is inscribed on the original valve and the second valve which was awarded to Walter. The original clam (Valve I) bears the names of 29 awardees. Walter's name is the 3rd to adorn Valve II. The names of the "Venerabli" are listed below: Valve I (Retired Spring 2008)

A. J. Lippson

Bennett Anderson

**Bette Bauereis** 

**Bob Christian** 

Dave Carbo

Dexter Haven

Dick Wetzel

**Dick Williams** 

Don Lear

Frank Reilly

**Fred Sieling** 

Harriette Phelps

Jerry Williams

John Kraeuter

John McDermott

**Judith Stribling** 

Kent Mountford

Mario Vieira

Mark Brinson

Mel Carriker

Mike Castagna

**Nelson Marshall** 

Steve Rebach

**Steve Storms** 

Tom Carver
Tom Jones
Tommy Hopking
Vic Kennedy
W. J. Hargis

Valve II (Placed in service for AERS's 60th anniversary -Fall 2008)

Marria O'Malley-Walsh Iris Anderson Walter Boynton